# DOBOT Magician vs myCobot 280

- [DOBOT Magician](https://vuntum.com/en/robots/dobot-magician) · [myCobot 280](https://vuntum.com/en/robots/elephant-mycobot-280)
- Last verified: 2026-10-03

## In short

Go for DOBOT Magician if you want the higher payload. On the other comparable criteria, neither stands out.

| Criterion | DOBOT Magician | myCobot 280 |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer suggested price | Not disclosed | US$799 (manufacturer statement, Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles)) |
| Weight | 3.4 kg (manufacturer statement, Dobot (pages produit officielles)) | 860 g (manufacturer statement, Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles)) |
| Payload | 500 g (manufacturer statement, Dobot (pages produit officielles)) (advantage) | 250 g (manufacturer statement, Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles)) |
| Public SDK | Yes (manufacturer statement, Dobot (pages produit officielles)) | Yes (manufacturer statement, Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles)) |
| Operating system | Not disclosed | Ubuntu Mate 20.04 (manufacturer statement, Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles)) |

“Not disclosed” means no information, not “no”. A level of evidence comes with every value.

## Frequently asked questions

### Which can carry more, DOBOT Magician or myCobot 280?

DOBOT Magician: 500 g, against 250 g for myCobot 280. A payload stated by a manufacturer is not a tested payload.

### On which criteria can DOBOT Magician and myCobot 280 be compared?

On 3 criteria documented for both robots and measured the same way: weight, payload and public sdk.

### Who makes DOBOT Magician and myCobot 280?

DOBOT Magician is made by Dobot, myCobot 280 by Elephant Robotics.

### Where do the values in this comparison come from?

Every value links to a claim on the robot’s sheet, with its source, its level of evidence and the date it was verified. “Not disclosed” means that no validated source gives the value, never “no”.

---

HTML version: https://vuntum.com/en/comparison/dobot-magician-vs-elephant-mycobot-280

Factual data: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: “Source: Vuntum (https://vuntum.com)” with a link to the page quoted. Editorial text: all rights reserved, short quotation with attribution.
