Skip to main content
FREN
Menu

Jackal vs Ridgeback

A sourced comparison, criterion by criterion. Every value links to the claim behind it, with its source and the date it was verified.

Jackal (Clearpath Robotics) and Ridgeback (Clearpath Robotics) both belong to “Wheeled”. They are documented on 3 criteria in common, measured the same way: weight, maximum speed, payload.

Computed on · latest data verification on

In short

Go for Jackal if you want the higher top speed. Go for Ridgeback if you want the higher payload.

This verdict only uses the criteria in the table where “better” has an objective meaning, from the sourced values. It takes no account of design, of how a robot feels to use, or of any test Vuntum did not run.

Criterion by criterion

Jackal vs Ridgeback: every cell links to the claim on the sheet, with its level of evidence, the date it was verified and its source.
CriterionJackalRidgeback
Weight17 kgClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on 135 kgClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on
Maximum speed2 m/sClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on Advantage1.1 m/sClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on
Payload20 kgClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on 100 kgClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on Advantage
Autonomous navigationNot disclosedYesClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Clearpath Robotics (pages produit officielles), accessed 2 October 2026.Verified on

“Not disclosed” means that no validated source gives the value, never “no”. A manufacturer’s claim is not a test: the level of evidence is shown under every value.

Frequently asked questions

Which can carry more, Jackal or Ridgeback?
Ridgeback: 100 kg, against 20 kg for Jackal. A payload stated by a manufacturer is not a tested payload.
Which is faster, Jackal or Ridgeback?
Jackal: 2 m/s, against 1.1 m/s for Ridgeback. These are stated top speeds, not cruising speeds.
On which criteria can Jackal and Ridgeback be compared?
On 3 criteria documented for both robots and measured the same way: weight, maximum speed and payload.
Who makes Jackal and Ridgeback?
Jackal and Ridgeback are both made by Clearpath Robotics.
Where do the values in this comparison come from?
Every value links to a claim on the robot’s sheet, with its source, its level of evidence and the date it was verified. “Not disclosed” means that no validated source gives the value, never “no”.
Cite this sheet

Plain citation

“Jackal vs Ridgeback”, Vuntum, updated 2 October 2026, https://vuntum.com/en/comparison/clearpath-robotics-jackal-vs-clearpath-robotics-ridgeback

APA format

Vuntum. (2026, October 2). Jackal vs Ridgeback. https://vuntum.com/en/comparison/clearpath-robotics-jackal-vs-clearpath-robotics-ridgeback