DOBOT Magician vs myCobot 280
A sourced comparison, criterion by criterion. Every value links to the claim behind it, with its source and the date it was verified.
DOBOT Magician (Dobot) and myCobot 280 (Elephant Robotics) both belong to “Robot arm”. They are documented on 3 criteria in common, measured the same way: weight, payload, public sdk.
Computed on · latest data verification on
In short
Go for DOBOT Magician if you want the higher payload. On the other comparable criteria, neither stands out.
This verdict only uses the criteria in the table where “better” has an objective meaning, from the sourced values. It takes no account of design, of how a robot feels to use, or of any test Vuntum did not run.
Criterion by criterion
| Criterion | DOBOT Magician | myCobot 280 |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer suggested price | Not disclosed | US$799 (US)Claimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles), published 14 February 2023.Verified on |
| Weight | 3.4 kgClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Dobot (pages produit officielles), accessed 28 September 2026.Verified on | 860 gClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles), published 9 March 2022.Verified on |
| Payload | 500 gClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Dobot (pages produit officielles), accessed 28 September 2026.Verified on Advantage | 250 gClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles), published 9 March 2022.Verified on |
| Public SDK | YesClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Dobot (pages produit officielles), accessed 28 September 2026.Verified on | YesClaimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles), published 28 September 2026.Verified on |
| Operating system | Not disclosed | Ubuntu Mate 20.04Claimed by the manufacturerClaimed by the manufacturer. Elephant Robotics (pages produit officielles), published 14 February 2023.Verified on |
“Not disclosed” means that no validated source gives the value, never “no”. A manufacturer’s claim is not a test: the level of evidence is shown under every value.
Frequently asked questions
- Which can carry more, DOBOT Magician or myCobot 280?
- DOBOT Magician: 500 g, against 250 g for myCobot 280. A payload stated by a manufacturer is not a tested payload.
- On which criteria can DOBOT Magician and myCobot 280 be compared?
- On 3 criteria documented for both robots and measured the same way: weight, payload and public sdk.
- Who makes DOBOT Magician and myCobot 280?
- DOBOT Magician is made by Dobot, myCobot 280 by Elephant Robotics.
- Where do the values in this comparison come from?
- Every value links to a claim on the robot’s sheet, with its source, its level of evidence and the date it was verified. “Not disclosed” means that no validated source gives the value, never “no”.
Sourced comparisons
Cite this sheet
Plain citation
“DOBOT Magician vs myCobot 280”, Vuntum, updated 3 October 2026, https://vuntum.com/en/comparison/dobot-magician-vs-elephant-mycobot-280
APA format
Vuntum. (2026, October 3). DOBOT Magician vs myCobot 280. https://vuntum.com/en/comparison/dobot-magician-vs-elephant-mycobot-280